Offline 360c

• 300kph+ club
  • Drug Dealer

• Drives: Purple People Eater
Many years ago (as in decades) it was quite normal to have to top up the engine oil between services. Then technology advanced and oil top ups seemed to be a thing of the past, to the point that service intervals increased and manufacturers used this in their marketing. Service intervals of 20,000km's became the norm.

In recent times the BMW engines, particularly the "M" ones, require oil top ups between services again. Sometimes multiple top ups of a litre at a time. Both my wifes garden variety X3 six cylinder and my X5M use oil, and in the X5M's case it's annoyingly frequent. I have asked the head spanner at Stilwells and his response is that BMW state that using anything up to 1 litre per 1000 km's is considered to be "acceptable"   :scratchchin: In what bloody universe was my response  :p

I don't understand it at all. I've been driving BMW's for about 25 years now and never had an issue right up until I sold the CSL. The next 2 have used oil and the X5M has been an all round reliability shocker.

Any idea why they new ones use oil ?

Offline CortinaD

My two e46 330 and m3 used about a litre of oil per 3000 kms or so and the both magically stopped using any after the 35k point.

The mini has used 500ml in 2000 kms will report what that's like as time goes on.

Offline 360c

• 300kph+ club
  • Drug Dealer

My two e46 330 and m3 used about a litre of oil per 3000 kms or so and the both magically stopped using any after the 35k point.

The mini has used 500ml in 2000 kms will report what that's like as time goes on.

My E46 CSL never required a top up to the best of my recollection. It had 105,000 km's on it when I sold it and it was as tight as a drum.

The X5M has just under 50,000 km's on it now. Can't see it improving from here.
It's like they were designed to use oil, weird  :scratchchin:

Offline deangpsx8

• I Am Legend
  • I am legend in my own lunchbox

• Drives: Everyone Crazy