Offline calais

• Drives: WRX
Thanks for the advice. I've ordered a new battery online as I'm sure the existing one is well and truly shagged (Cycle count: 457  Condition: Poor).

I'll also have a trawl through the apple support site. Hopefully I'll find some other useful information, like how to improve the performance as this appears to be suffering. Is there an equivalent to hard drive defragmenting for Macs?

Offline dkabab

not sure why it would be the battery.... not that im a tech expert, but at work we display all our laptops without a battery in them running straight off the power lead.
if you're computer is shutting down with the lead attached, its not running out of power.

Offline Paulstar

I'm having a shit of a time with this Mac, all I want to do is copy the folders of stuff to another hard drive but I can't find anything like Explorer to just browse the bloody hard drive - everything is dumbed down or fancied up to the point where even I can't figger out where the hell my files actually are!  :irked:  I've found an export facility in the photo-editing suite, but that exports them and "touches" them so it changes the file date, and it only exports pictures not videos, and you have to specify new folders each time and I'm getting the shits.  It's really good for just using the way they want you to, but for someone with about 20 years of in-depth knowledge of operating systems who wants to play at the lower levels...  sheesh.

:doh: :doh: :doh: Sounds like my first day of working in a place furnished with macs...i didnt have 20yrs experience behind me though  :tilt:

Offline AshSimmonds

• Geekitecht

• Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
:doh: :doh: :doh: Sounds like my first day of working in a place furnished with macs...i didnt have 20yrs experience behind me though  :tilt: