3682 views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


Offline mhh

  • Chief Test Pilot

  • Joined: Feb 2006

  • Location: Adelaide
My IT guy is away today. I've just put a Telstra sim from a Nokia into a used iPhone 3GS but I can't get the signal bars showing. What did I forget to do?



Offline PA

  • One man comedy gala

  • Joined: Jan 2008

  • Location: www.club-carbon.com
Is the phone locked to another carrier?



Offline mhh

  • Chief Test Pilot

  • Joined: Feb 2006

  • Location: Adelaide
Is the phone locked to another carrier?

No, both phones are on my corporate plan.



Offline CortinaD


  • Joined: Jan 2008

  • Location:
  • Drives:
Could be loads of things.

Is the nokia old
Is the sim cancelled
Is the phone / sim shizened
What does it say in the top left of the iphone?

I would try another sim and see if that works. If you need a replacement sim and don't have one or have to pay for it, don't I have loads here.



Offline AshSimmonds

  • Geekitecht

  • Joined: Feb 2006

  • Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Location: Adelayed
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
I recently had the same problem on my HTC, solved it by acquiring a new phone.




Offline mhh

  • Chief Test Pilot

  • Joined: Feb 2006

  • Location: Adelaide
Could be loads of things.

Is the nokia old
Is the sim cancelled
Is the phone / sim shizened
What does it say in the top left of the iphone?

I would try another sim and see if that works. If you need a replacement sim and don't have one or have to pay for it, don't I have loads here.

Yes, that's it. It's probably a 2G SIM.  :doh:

Heading your way - thanks!  :thumbsup:






Offline mhh

  • Chief Test Pilot

  • Joined: Feb 2006

  • Location: Adelaide
Thanks to CortinaD, I was fixed in a jiffy.  :thumbsup:



Offline dkabab

im surprised you just didnt drive to the telstra dealer in burnie to get it sorted...



Offline CortinaD


  • Joined: Jan 2008

  • Location:
  • Drives:
im surprised you just didnt drive to the telstra dealer in burnie to get it sorted...

Telstra shops cannot operate managed accounts and (usually) charge $ for a sim and you have to take that back with you and call the fulfilment team anyway.



Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
Apple iPhone

Started by goober « 1 2 ... 195 196 » Gadgets and Technology

1958 Replies
439574 Views
Last post Thu, 13 Apr, 2017 - 21:59
by scud
12 Replies
7478 Views
Last post Tue, 27 Apr, 2010 - 08:43
by mhh
15 Replies
6048 Views
Last post Wed, 14 Dec, 2011 - 10:27
by AshSimmonds
7 Replies
4545 Views
Last post Fri, 24 Feb, 2012 - 09:26
by mhh
0 Replies
822 Views
Last post Thu, 15 Oct, 2015 - 03:25
by trev0006


Latest Discussions

BOARD TOPIC MEMBER POSTED
[ Ferrari ] 488 GTB Condor Man Today at 21:48
[ Lamborghini ] Huracan Performante shack Today at 20:32
[ Cars ] Spotted thread JPG Today at 20:18
[ Cars ] Now who is a VERY HAPPY Lad :) Condor Man Today at 17:52
[ McLaren ] McLaren 720S psw Today at 17:02
[ Funny Cool Stoopid ] it's funny cause i'm drunk!! AE-DC Today at 14:53
[ Ferrari ] 812 Superfast allanuber Today at 12:01