34014 views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


Offline cel




Offline amgsl55

  • Tooth hurty

  • Joined: Feb 2011

  • Location: Adelaide
There's so many routers out there  :irked: What would be a recommended brand/model router?

you cant go wrong with a draytek gigabit router

disappointed I missed what PA wrote before the edit



Offline cel

you cant go wrong with a draytek gigabit router

disappointed I missed what PA wrote before the edit

Thanks, I'll look into that one :)

PA's post is still there, my edit was to include a thank you for his power tools advice  :P



Offline cel

Me again  :dopey:

http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/smallfish_info.php?event_id=1786

Any reason this would not be a good deal (looking at the last three)?

Any difference between those three apart from price and casing? I can't seem to find anything in the specs...



Offline dkabab

the $1399 one is a pretty good deal, depends on what components they have used.
going on its basic specs there, its a good deal for an assembled computer. Friend of mine and i built one fairly similar for around $1100, however this was with 8gb of ram (all you need) and without a copy of windows.

that was with mostly premium parts. if you're not keen on buying parts and building it, then go the 1399 one.

from the look of it, all thats different is the casing, but they could have different motherboards etc....



Offline AshSimmonds

  • Geekitecht

  • Joined: Feb 2006

  • Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Location: Adelayed
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
I didn't realise dealing with IT gurus could be so tiresome...

There was a bit of to and fro beforehand but basically we figgered out we couldn't set the nameservers of a site to change, so we had to do the A record. This guy handles the registry stuff, I do the hosting, so I just need him to add an A record for the whole domain, I'm not particularly savvy when it comes to the networking side of things, but honestly how long does it take for someone who does this as a job to get it?

Quote from: Ash
Ok back from Phillip Island...

I'm not much of a network geek so unsure what exactly you need, here's the IP for the "A" record: ###.###.###.###

Quote from: IT Guru
Yes this is what was required and has been entered into the MelbourneIT DNS manger.

Providing it is the correct IP address the site will be backup with-in 2 - 72 hrs.

... Couple boring emails about nameserver stuff ...

Quote from: IT Guru
The IP address you supplies is also correct as it now forwards www requests to the servage web server, therefore the name server is correctly working as per the supplied IP address, but the web server is not routing it to the right location.

Ok the site is now up if you prefix it with WWW, but without the WWW (and any other subdomain) it just 404's.

Quote from: Ash
Ok it looks like only the WWW part has had the a record set, it also needs to have the domain itself (no www) set to the IP ###.###.###.###

Quote from: IT Guru
Not sure what you mean all I can tell you is that the MelbourneIT records have been set as we have done so for over 60 other clients (as per the standard convention used by every domain host provider all over the world) and we have never experienced this type of issue.

I don't think servage have it quite right yet Please have it revisited.

Quote from: Host Tech Support
I have checked and found that you are not using the servage nameservers for the domain aqueous-water.com.au, you have set our IP address for only www.aqueous-water.com.au

You will need to set the A record for aqueous-water.com.au as well to the IP ###.###.###.###

Quote from: IT Guru
You can only set a A record to point to a IP address, url's can only be set as a CNAME. I will added it but why was this information not provided initially.

Quote from: Ash
Like I said I'm no network geek, I just forwarded the IP address.

At a guess it might have worked for both www and non if A record was set to *.A-W.com.au to start with instead of doing them individually, dunno.

Quote from: IT Guru
What has been requested is invalid and is not allowed by the MelbourneIT domain servers. As I stated you normally have one or the other hence why I never added both and as it turns out its not allowed.

Quote from: Ash
So you're not allow to set an A record for just aqueous-water.com.au? Seems odd given that all the other records are like that, according to http://who.is/dns/aqueous-water.com.au it's only the A record which has been set with the WWW prefix, which is why I suspect www.A-W.com.au resolves but A-W.com.au doesn't.

Quote from: IT Guru
No please do not miss quote me I said that a "a record can only be a IP address. Again this is a global standard.

Quote from: Ash
Yes, but I'm left unsure what it is that's holding things back.

Can you set the A record for aqueous-water.com.au sans WWW to the IP I supplied?

Quote from: Ash
The www.aqueous-water.com.au is already done, the hold up is the non-WWW portion.

Quote from: IT Guru
What do you mean by non-www portion?

Quote from: Ash
http://aqueous-water.com.au

Quote from: IT Guru
This was done two days ago as per my email.

Quote from: Ash
Yah, and as I noted it appears to have been done for WWW.aqueous-water.com.au - which works fine - but not just aqueous-water.com.au, sans WWW.

Quote from: IT Guru
I have tried it from numerous computers within our network and externally and it does not appear to work at all. Yes it does goto a text file version of the site but that is as far as it gets.

Quote from: Ash
This is because the non-WWW portion is not resolving.

Once that resolves correctly the site will look correct, as it is attempting to reference CSS etc files on the non-WWW version which obviously just 404 out.

I can't (easily) get into the admin back-end until the non-WWW bit is sussed out, which as far as I can tell requires the A record to be added.

Quote from: IT Guru
Interesting never had to do this with any other site. Usually only need to set either a record or CNAME that is it. Anyway I will wait for a update from you

Quote from: Ash
The difference is that the A record has been set for WWW.aqueous-water.com.au - hence that is the only domain that is resolving. You could do the same with any subdomain, eg http://porn.aqueous-water.com.au/ gives the same result as just aqueous-water.com.au ...

I think you need to set the A record for JUST the aqueous-water.com.au domain, which may require an asterisk prefix - I'm not sure.

See the link I sent earlier, ALL the other records are just for the main domain, but for some reason the A record has been set for the WWW subdomain only.

http://who.is/dns/aqueous-water.com.au

Image

Quote from: IT Guru
A entry has been added to allow lookup with or without the need for the www prefix. This has not resolved the problem as it is a internal DNS issue within the web server. This is further proven by the fact that if you ping the domain name the web server IP address is responding therefore it is reaching the correct address.

Regardless if you attempt to access the site with or without the www prefix the result is the same, the site is not displaying correctly.

Quote from: Ash
Nope, site looks fine now, it worked, ta.

Quote from: IT Guru
Can we please get pass this it is not the wrong DNS domain. Let me spell it out for you it is a internal issue on the web server the screenshot proves this. If you would like further proof you can call MelbourneIT youeself.

Quote from: Ash
That's exactly what it should be showing - a new install of a CMS, it wasn't yesterday because of the non-WWW thing, but you fixed that, now I can work on the site.

Quote from: IT Guru
Irrespective of if the web site could be accessed via a non-www address makes no difference to the publishing of the web site, but how ever you would like to justify it makes no difference to me.

I know that I was presenting the facts which where correct and consistent in my findings. Considering your last email claimed that the site was up but now the story has changed, you may want to chose your words more carefully before making more claims.

Quote from: Ash
What are you on about?

I don't care, the stuff I said yesterday was correct and I'm not doing any historical revisionism, read it again if you like. It was accessible via WWW but not via non-WWW until you made the changes I suggested, you presented the facts as far as you knew, you just didn't know all of them, no prob bob. All sorted now so no need to get huffy.

Quote from: IT Guru
Again not being able to access it via a non-www address has no bearing on why the site was not publishing correctly.

Quote from: Ash
Yes it does, here's what I said yesterday:

Quote
This is because the non-WWW portion is not resolving.

Once that resolves correctly the site will look correct, as it is attempting to reference CSS etc files on the non-WWW version which obviously just 404 out.

I can't (easily) get into the admin back-end until the non-WWW bit is sussed out, which as far as I can tell requires the A record to be added.

Now the non-WWW bit is resolving and so the site looks correct, all goodski.

Quote from: IT Guru
If you say so but this is the only web host system I have ever worked on and I have worked on many that allegedly requires a non www entry before it will work

Quote from: Ash
The logic is simple, WWW is just a subdomain, as I said it could be porn.A-W.com.au or whatever, if you ONLY put in a record for a subdomain that is the only thing that will work, if you put in a record for the entire domain - ie without the WWW bit - then the whole domain will work, which is what we've got now.

Go through your other websites if you like, you'll find them to be the same - ie not registered as just WWW like A-W was originally.

Quote from: IT Guru
Ok thanks


I'm just glad I'm not in IT. :doh: :p




Offline CortinaD


  • Joined: Jan 2008

  • Location:
  • Drives:
I can't believe you entertain dudes like that. What a waste of your day.

Its very easy with TLS custdata

Login, click Service Management, click primary DNS, click update on the domain, click Assign IP address, type in address click submit, job done.

It is almost as easy on Melbourne IT.



Offline AshSimmonds

  • Geekitecht

  • Joined: Feb 2006

  • Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Location: Adelayed
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
I can't believe you entertain dudes like that. What a waste of your day.

Didn't really take much elapsed time - but every time I had another email come back sounding even more angsty and not understanding the simple thing I was trying to get him to do I was just :confused: :rolleyes: "how can I say this any simpler?".



Offline CortinaD


  • Joined: Jan 2008

  • Location:
  • Drives:
Didn't really take much elapsed time - but every time I had another email come back sounding even more angsty and not understanding the simple thing I was trying to get him to do I was just :confused: :rolleyes: "how can I say this any simpler?".

Perhaps he expects you learn his mother language



Offline mtarone


  • Joined: May 2012

  • Location: Adelaide
I'm just glad I'm not in IT. :doh: :p

Usually its not that bad, but yeah you copped a doozy there.  :D



Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
2658 Views
Last post Tue, 11 Nov, 2008 - 17:35
by Kelsa
348 tech q's

Started by andecorp « 1 2 ... 5 6 » Ferrari

52 Replies
23226 Views
Last post Tue, 19 Nov, 2013 - 19:07
by Ferrari Fissatore
IE6 support

Started by AshSimmonds « 1 2 » Site Stuff

10 Replies
6125 Views
Last post Sat, 05 Mar, 2011 - 14:48
by AshSimmonds
0 Replies
1870 Views
Last post Wed, 03 Jul, 2013 - 04:15
by AdminAG
4 Replies
2000 Views
Last post Wed, 11 Jun, 2014 - 13:21
by PA


Latest Discussions

BOARD TOPIC MEMBER POSTED
[ Cars ] HEARING AIDS psw Today at 08:33
[ Lamborghini ] Huracan Performante allanuber Today at 07:16
[ Off Topic ] What do you do with the luggage in your Ferrari? mrodrigo Today at 04:29
[ Off Topic ] Sydney restaurant recommendations cel Yesterday at 22:45
[ Off Topic ] The SA BS thread dkabab Yesterday at 19:22
[ Cars ] Maserati Gransport Keys dodger Yesterday at 19:06
[ Cars ] Spotted thread jmillard308 Yesterday at 18:57
[ BMW M Power ] BMW 8 Series Concept JPG Yesterday at 18:33
[ Maserati Videos ] Maserati Granturismo used as BAIT Car! Paulstar Yesterday at 14:49