Offline allanuber

• Name: Al

You might get a better deal if you get your second car done at the same time ... oh wait ... erm...
C'mon, do it!

Offline Wattens

• Free Mustache Rides
  • The only wrong decision is Regret

• Drives: Cars
  • Name: Knob Head
I'm not an expert in exotic ecu and performance gizmos, but for performance jap cars standard chip tunes are the cheapest crappiest tunes you can get.

I can not see how sending a chip to get programmed in Germany is going to be that good in the end. I'm not saying it doesn't work, but all used cars behave differently, different countries with diffeent fuel blends ect. As we all know each car engine is slightly unique to each other, especially when we are talking about hand made engines like fez/mazza and lambos. I fear that a standard software upgrade without any real dyno tuning and alterations could be good aswell as bad to performance. If someone was literally reprogramming the ecu to be optimised to MY car with the aid of dyno testing each change and playing around with air:fuel ratios ect...then that is great, but to generalise a tune for cars with different milage, different fuels, slightly different engine power figures doesn't sound as good as the companies make out.

Do i have a valid point or is there something with exotics that makes what i said irrelevant?
Enjoying Life!!!!

Offline dodger

• Tommy Gunna

different engine power figures doesn't sound as good as the companies make out.

Do i have a valid point or is there something with exotics that makes what i said irrelevant?

Makes sense to me, all seems like BS and as far as the Merc went it was.

Offline dodger

• Tommy Gunna

You might get a better deal if you get your second car done at the same time ... oh wait ... erm...

I asked about a powerchip in a Getz and they called security :?

Offline Wattens

• Free Mustache Rides