Offline AshSimmonds

• Geekitecht

• Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
From: http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,25636842-5007146,00.html

Champ's life after depression

By John Bowe

I SPENT 23 years living in a bubble. As a professional racing driver, my life revolved around race tracks, sponsors, testing, politics, media relations and then more racing. I loved every second of it. Like a lot of men, particularly athletes, my career was my life. Then came time to retire.
That's when the bubble burst.

Looking back, I should have seen the end coming more clearly but I did not want to see it because I did not want it to stop. It was a cycle: Create more distractions to delay facing the inevitable.

I know lots of athletes and sportsmen go through it. Several counsellors told me so. But knowing it and going through it yourself are two different things.

The last couple of years of my professional career were tough. The more I tried to distract myself, the more lost I felt. That's when the depression began.

Hindsight is marvellous but at the time I did not see any of this. I just felt more and more dejected, more and more sad.

When depression gets a hold of you it is so debilitating. I really do know why some people take their own lives - the burden feels that huge at times and many days there just seems to be no hope of feeling normal or not feeling down in the dumps.
Related Coverage

I am mostly a very logical person and I tried to convince myself of the reason for the situation. All of this was happening when I was still racing, during my final year but I knew I had to retire.

It was like a bad dream. I tried to appear normal although I felt anything but. People who followed me for years were incredibly respectful, my peers were respectful, the media were great but it did not make me feel any better. The closer the last race got, the worse I felt. Looking back even now makes me feel petrified.