Offline AshSimmonds

• Geekitecht

• Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
What are the best resources for getting to grips with these things?

I'm good at being self-taught/learn-by-doing - so it'd be cool if there's some decent online tutorials/vids to get up to speed before deciding if I like it enough to get proper lessons.

I've done some Guitar Hero on the medium level, and in 1994 a mate taught me to play the chorus to Come As You Are by Nirvana, but that's about it.   :headbang:

A mate of mine is a musician so can lend me an axe or two to hack away on - "as long as you don't channel Garth Brooks..."

Offline futurism

• Drives: Regretfully sold my GT3
  • Name: David
This answer depends on if you want to play an acoustic guitar as a singer songwriter type
An electric guitar and be a rock star or metal god (like me!)
Or classical guitar and be like segovia

Also, can you read music or play any other insturment?

By far the best way is to play along with someone else who can already play
youtube has millions of videos, including heaps of stolen ones from professional courses

As far as reading goes, guitarists invented tablature to eliminate the need to read music, which is fine if you want to learn the chorus to come as you are, but if you wanted to learn composition some day or to be able to play along with other insturments, you will struggle with tablature alone.
Still its probably the best resource to get you going

Pick an easy song, go to http://www.ultimate-guitar.com and find the tab for it

Not knowing what genres of music you enjoy, I cant really suggest a song, popular music generally has no guitar at all or its just a heavily sampled cut up and edited loop with a heap of fx processing.