Offline dkabab

im no pro on economics... but im just watching the news and they government keeps pushing everyone should spend the $1000 they are giving out.. not to save the money.
not sure about anyone else, but in tough times, surely the smart decision would be to hold onto the extra cash instead of wasting it and getting into debt again. i know its only $1000 but its a lot for some people.

Offline AshSimmonds

• Geekitecht

• Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
I was reading the news article just a while ago - maaan I just had to laugh!  And the comments section omg :eek: - unexplainable!

Offline app

im no pro on economics... but im just watching the news and they government keeps pushing everyone should spend the $1000 they are giving out.. not to save the money.
not sure about anyone else, but in tough times, surely the smart decision would be to hold onto the extra cash instead of wasting it and getting into debt again. i know its only $1000 but its a lot for some people.

Their argument is that spending stimulates activity in the economy - it's basically the equvilient of the government spending money. I know this sounds so obvious to some, but can you see where I'm coming from??

My view is that it will work, people will spend it. Having an economics education, I've learnt that if you give bulk transfers to citizens, they are likely to spend it all straight away on luxuries such as tv's and computers etc. However, if you give it to them in increments, they are not likely to buy expensive things, instead buying necessities.

However, it is not enough to stimulate economy. Giving $1000 to selected families is not going to do much.

Furthermore, it is probably not worthwhile holding onto cash with low interest rates.

Offline AshSimmonds

• Geekitecht

However, it is not enough to stimulate economy. Giving $1000 to selected families is not going to do much.