Offline AshSimmonds

• Geekitecht

• Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
i've taken and shared millions of photos, as have many Aussie Exotics members such as dingo, chewy, tdc and finny.

i'm always happy to give the originals to those who provided me with the opportunity to take a great photo, along with anyone i know personally and many folk i just enjoy talking to on the interwebs, but what do folks think about putting hi-res and un-watermarked stuff on the internet in general?

i'm not a professional photographer by any stretch, and even though i've taken some pretty decent shots in my time nobody has ever bought a photo from me so it's not as if sharing my hi-res stuff has any effect on my income.

a few months back i put up ONE hi-res pic amongst a dozen screen-size pics (all with faint watermark), a few days later i found copies of that pic around the web with my watermark smudged out.  only reason i found it is because someone who saw it recognised the cars and where i'd posted them on this site and so i saw the links coming in.  i was just basically confused about this, why would you do that?

generally i put up 1200px size with a tasteful watermark, big enough as a desktop for most screens, and personally with the number of pics i see i actually LIKE having unobtrusive watermarks on the pic so i can trace it back to it's origin when i eventually forget where it came from.

anyhoo, what do other folks think about putting hi-res/original pics on the web?

Offline flamestone

• Geekographer

• Drives: to and from everywhere
  • Name: Shane
  • www: Flamestone.com
This is something I've been wrestling with as well in the last month or so since I started my new online gallery (I'd ended up with 3, so I'm trying to consolidate!).

Whilst people have paid me to do photo shoots, I also wouldn't call myself a professional photographer.