Offline jamesatfish

I've been saving this rant for a few months now but it's now time to vent...

Earlier this year my wife decided she wanted a new car.  She had a C63 Estate but when our second child came along in April it was just too small for 2 kids and all their crap, and after hunting around the shortlist came to Porsche Cayenne Turbo/GTS or Audi RS6 Avant.

We decided to set a cap at $200K, which ruled out the RS6, so we started hunting around for a 1-3 year old Cayenne.  We ended up chasing cars at 7 dealers - 6 official Porsche dealers and one independent, and things didn't go so well...

Dealer 1, who we bought our last Cayenne Turbo from, had a Turbo for us to look at so we arranged a trip to see it.  On the morning we were to see the car I called them to confirm a time and was told it had been sold a week earlier but they hadn't thought to tell me before I made the trip up to see them.

Dealer 2 listed a GTS online, so I sent an enquiry and waited 7 days for a response. The GTS they listed didn't have the options I wanted so I told the salesman what I was looking for.  In the next month they listed 3 matching cars on Carsales but I didn't get a call from the dealership about any of them, and the salesman didn't respond to 2 emails I sent asking for more details on the cars.

I called my contacts at Dealers 3 and 4 with our requirements, but they couldn't help me out as they had nothing matching in stock.  Those guys get a pass as they can't be expected to sell a car they don't have.

Dealer 5 listed a Turbo, so I called to speak to a salesman and got a call back 3 days later.  He sent me details, I made an offer in writing and he never responded or called back to follow up.