Offline elsieprobert

Hi guys, I am a newbie here.  Yet another person asking the question - which is the best 'blah blah blah'to buy.  So - sorry to annoy you but I need advice.  My Subaru Impreza has just been written off by the insurance company which I found shocking considering how little damage was actually done by the hail here.  I now have about $13,000 to spend on a new car.  I am a single mum with two kids (9 and 13) so am after something that can fit at least 4 people.  I want it to be my daily drive rather than something that only comes out on the weekends. 

I have always wanted an old fiat and figure this may be my opportunity.  I am just worried that I may be being impractical as people I talk to keep telling me I should get something newer and more reliable (holden barina has been mentioned!).  Do you think it is possible to buy one of the classic fiats and use it as a daily drive in the knowledge that it will not leave me stranded.  I am prepared to spend two or three thousand at the mechanic if that is necessary.  I suppose I need someone who has a good knowledge of these cars to tell me if I am being at all realistic or if it is a pipe dream.  My biggest fear is buying a car that I love and then finding it is constantly breaking down. If it is a realistic ambition, which of the older fiats would you recommend (love the old 500's!)

Offline AshSimmonds

• Geekitecht

• Drives: GF's shitbox :(
  • Name: Humble Narrator
  • www: AshSimmonds.com
Man - this thread is so awesome yet so fail all in one I just want to cuddle it until little mini threads pop out.

$13k is about perfect for what to spend on buying and making sure an old Fiat is gunna serve you well - but that bit about being a single mum with kids... jeez - I just can't bring myself to recommend this path.

I really hate putting my brain into reality mode, so unless you actually supply and request more information I'll avoid specifics - but from what we know so far, it's not recommended.